GAAAC LogoThe Aluminaria Award

It is our pleasure to introduce to you the many alums who brighten lives.

The Aluminaria Award honors alumni who have dedicated their lives to making the world a better, brighter place through community service, excellence in the workplace and/or contributions to society above and beyond what is required. By becoming silent "heroes" these alumni heighten the profile of UNM, inspiring others to follow in their path.

For more information on the Aluminaria Award, contact Kim Feldman at Nominate a community member who "brightens" lives today!

Aluminating Awardees:

William M. Brown III, 2016 Paul Ré Peace Prize lifetime achievement award and for his environmental conservation and sustainability work.

Octavio Casillas, '11, JD is the head administrator for La Academica Dolores Huerta Middle School. He is known for his innovative spirit and positive attitude in the realm of K-12 education. Casillas was named Educator of the Year at the annual banquet for the Las Cruces Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Denise Elia Chávez, Paul Ré Peace Prize lifetime achievement award and for her writing and advocacy initiative on the borders of New Mexico, West Texas and northern Mexico.

Kathy Dorcas, '12 BA, for her cross-cultural collaborations with middle school students around the globe.

Mark Herman, '91 BA, once a server at Dion's, worked his way up through the company and is now the CEO. Recently, Herman partnered Dion's with the Golden Apple Foundation to promote education in New Mexico. As president of the Golden Apple Foundation this year, he leads the foundation as they recognize teachers who go above and beyond for New Mexico students. Mark is an unselfish leader, has integrity, and believes in New Mexico students.

Jake Hollowell, '2008, for spearheading Run Nerds Run, a UNM engineering fun run to raise money for a scholarship endowment.

Marissa Livingston, '2013, for representing the Land of Enchantment as the 2016 Miss New Mexico contestant and for being a White House intern.

Rosa Matoni-Montoya, '86 BSN from Albuquerque is the senior director of the Center for Digestive Health and Endoscopy Services. She was awarded the Excellence in Nurse Leadership Award from the New Mexico Center for Nursing Excellence.

Maureen Meyer, '14, for travelling to Africa on a Fulbright Scholarship to research the impact culture has on the environment.

Carol E Moye, '73 BSN has had an outstanding career in the field of health care. She has devoted her adult life to care for others in the profession of nursing. She has recently been honored with the 2015 Nursing Legend Award from the New Mexico Center for nursing excellence.

David R. Muñoz, 2016 Paul Ré Peace Prize recipient and for his effort in combining engineering and humanitarian efforts.

Cindy Nava, '15 BA, for her persistency in obtaining a BA degree in spite of her immigration status.

Pablo H. Padilla, '05 JD, from Zuni, NM received the All Pueblo Council of Governors' Distinguished Governors' Award for commitment and service to tribal leadership.

Jimmie Reyna, '78 JD, for his confirmation by the U.S. Senate as the first Hispanic member of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

Carl Smith, '2006, for his dedication to helping those who are socially impacted and by founding Battered Family Services in Gallup, NM.

Kyle Stepp, '16, for overcoming health obstacles and turning his personal tragedy into triumph that benefits all those around him.

Susan Zannoni, '09 Nursing, for her determination to integrate mental and physical health in her 25 year nursing practice in the state of New York.

For questions or more information:

Alumni Relations Office
O: 505-277-5808
800-ALUM-UNM (258-6866)