Alumni Awards

Award Recipients

Get to know our award recipients: what they do, how they excel, and who they are.

Award Categories

Discover how we honor and celebrate the accomplishments of our diverse community.

Nominate Online

Use our online form to introduce us to the outstanding people you think deserve an award.

Congratulations to our 2017 Zimmerman, Rodey, Fergusson, and Faculty Teaching Award Honorees: David Campbell (MPA ’81, JD ’86), Zimmerman Award; Loren Kieve (JD ’73), Rodey Award; Stephen Ciepiela (BA ’77, MPA ’80), Fergusson Award; and Amy Brandzel, Faculty Teaching Award.

Awards will be presented at our Winter Awards Dinner on Thursday, Feb, 16. 2017 at the Albuquerque Country Club. Tickets are $35 per person. Seating is limited. If you would like to attend the dinner, please call the Alumni Relations Office at 505-277-5808. Read more about the recipients.

We are currently accepting nominations for the following awards. Recipients will be honored at the All University Breakfast during Homecoming 2017. Nomination deadline is May 22, 2017. Nominations will be considered for two years from the date submitted. Thank you for your nominations!

  • Zia Award: Honors New Mexico residents with a UNM degree who have distinguished themselves in any one or more of the following categories: philanthropic endeavors, public office, service to the University, community and volunteer activities, and/or business professional fields, or educational fields. Read about all of our Zia Award Recipients, from 1994-2015!
  • Lobo Award: Presented to a UNM alumnus/a who has given outstanding personal service to the University or whose career achievement reflects credit on the university.
  • Inspirational Young Alumnus Award: Recognizes significant contributions by an individual, whether through professional achievement or community service. Recipients demonstrate a commitment to excellence in post-academic life and an ongoing commitment to professional work, research, multicultural relations and/or volunteerism, while being recognized as an emerging leader. Download the nomination requirements.(pdf file)

Please note: Nominations for the Aluminaria Award are ongoing throughout the year. You may nominate your candidate at any time.

Congratulations to our 2016 Zia, Lobo, and Inspirational Young Alumnus Award Honorees:

2016 Alumni Association Award Recipients

2016 Alumni Association Award Recipients

From left to right: James Miller, Alexis Tappan, Harold Lavender, Bridgit Lujan, Robert Solenberger, President Robert G, Frank, Randy Royster, Carol Pierce, Gary Gordon, Celia Foy Castillo, Kenneth Gonzales, and James Lewis. Read more about our 2016 Award Recipients.

Photos of the Awards ceremony are available on Flickr (opens in new window).

For questions or more information:

Jane Algermissen, Alumni Relations Office
(505) 277-9085,