Alumni Awards

Award Recipients

Get to know our award recipients: what they do, how they excel, and who they are.

Award Categories

Discover how we honor and celebrate the accomplishments of our diverse community.

Nominate Online

Use our online form to introduce us to the outstanding people you think deserve an award.

Congratulations: Zia, Lobo, and Inspirational Young Alumnus Award Honorees

Congratulations to our 2017 Zia, Lobo, and Inspirational Young Alumnus Award Honorees: Amy Boule, Larry Larranaga, L. Ray Nunley, Roy Solomon, Elisabeth Valenzuela, and Vickie Wilcox, Zia Awards; Jack Fortner, Lobo Award; and Megan Fitzpatrick, Inspirational Young Alumnus Award.

Awards will be presented at the All University Breakfast from 9 to 11 a.m. on Saturday, Sept. 30, 2017 at the Embassy Suites. Tickets are $25 per person. RSVP online (opens in new window). Deadline to RSVP is Friday, Sept. 22, 2017. Read more about the recipients.

Congratulations To Our 2017 Zimmerman, Rodey, Fergusson, Faculty Teaching Award Honorees:

2017 Alumni Association Award Recipients

2017 Alumni Association Award Recipients

From left to right: Awards Committee Chair Alexis Tappan, President-Elect Harold Lavender, Zimmerman Award recipient David Campbell, Fergusson Award recipient Stephen Ciepiela, Faculty Staff Teaching Award recipient Amy Brandzel, Rodey Award recipient Loren Kieve and Present James B. Lewis. Read more about our 2017 Award Recipients.

Photos of the awards ceremony are available on Flickr (opens in new window).

Awards Nominations:

We are currently accepting nominations for the following awards. Recipients will be honored at the Winter Awards Dinner in February 2018. Nomination deadline is Friday, Nov. 3, 2017. Nominations will be considered for two years from the date submitted. Thank you for your nominations!

  • James F. Zimmerman Award: The recipient must be an alumnus of UNM. The recipient must have made a significant contribution that has brought fame and honor to UNM or to the state of New Mexico.
  • Bernard S. Rodey Award: Recognizes those persons who have devoted an unusual amount of time in a leadership capacity and whose efforts have contributed significantly to the field of education. The recipient may or may not be an alum of UNM.
  • Erna S. Fergusson Award: Recognizes exceptional accomplishments, commitment or distinguished service to UNM. The recipient may or may not be an alum of UNM.
  • Faculty Teaching Award: Recognizes outstanding teaching and service to students. The recipient must be a faculty member currently employed full-time in any school or college of UNM.

Please note: Nominations for the Aluminaria Award are ongoing throughout the year. You may nominate your candidate at any time.

For questions or more information:

Jane Algermissen, Alumni Relations Office
(505) 277-9085,