Board of Directors

We Work for You! The UNM Alumni Association is governed by a national board of 37 members and four ex-officio members. The board is charged with guiding the Association to be a vital partner in the continued excellence of The University of New Mexico through the significant engagement of alumni. The entire board meets three times a year; the executive committee meets monthly.

The Alumni Association Board of Directors works to connect alumni with each other and the University and encourages engagement among all members of the UNM community, including students, faculty and staff and the greater community as a whole. Board members serve 3 year terms, with the exception of Ex-Officio members whose length of service varies based upon the constituency which they represent.

Board of Directors, 2020-2021

Chad Cooper '01 MBA
Financial Advisor
Gateway Financial Advisors
Albuquerque, NM

Mike Silva '95 BA
President Elect
Co-founder, Albuquerque Tourism &
Sightseeing Factory
Founder, Rude Boy Cookies
Albuquerque, NM

Alexis Tappan '99 BA, '17 MA
Past President
AKT Communications
Albuquerque, NM

Joe Ortiz ’14 BBA
Audit Manager
Kubiak, Melton & Associates, LLC
Albuquerque, NM

Yasine Armstrong '05 MA
Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer
Roswell, NM

Dr. Kenneth Armijo ’11 PhD, ’08 MS, ’05 BS
Senior Member of the Technical Staff
Sandia National Labs
Albuquerque, NM

Kyle Biederwolf ’17 BBA, ’19 MPA
External Affairs Manager
Albuquerque, NM

Doug Brown
Brown and Brown Ventures
Albuquerque, NM

John Brown '72 BBA
President & CEO
Silent Falcons UAS Tech.
Albuquerque, NM

Robert Calvani '71 BA
NCA Architects
Albuquerque, NM

Xochitl Campos Biggs '08 BA
Coordinator, Downtown Public Safety ECHO
Albuquerque, NM

Aprilyn Chavez Geissler ’96 BS
First Executive Vice President
Gateway Insurance Group, Inc.
Albuquerque, NM

Sophia Collaros '73 BA, '89 JD
Privacy Officer
Presbyterian Healthcare Services
Albuquerque, NM

Joe Dworak '09 BA, '13 JD
Assistant Attorney General
Litigation Division Director
Santa Fe, NM

Ryan Ferguson
Managing Partner, Investment Advisor Representative
RetireSmart NM
Albuquerque, NM

Darrell Garcia '07 MA, '12 MBA
Instructor and Chair, Department of Mathematics
Albuquerque Public Schools
Albuquerque, NM

Julia Gilroy '04 BA, '06 MA
Product Operations Specialist
Facebook, Inc.
Seattle, WA

Sydney Gunthorpe '97 BS '99 MA
VP, Academic Affairs
Central New Mexico Community College
Albuquerque, NM

Shamarra Henderson '07 JD
Henderson & Grohman, PC
Albuquerque, NM

Melissa C. Henry In-progress PhD
Student Regent
The University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM

Mark Herman '06, '09 MBA
Chief Executive Officer
Albuquerque, NM

Leslie Hoffman '99 BA, '09 MBA
LEH Consulting Group LLC
Albuquerque, NM

Dick Knipfing '76 BA
KRQE News Anchor
Albuquerque, NM

Erica Krause Muñoz ’10 BA
Marketing Business Partner
Presbyterian Healthcare Services
Albuquerque, NM

Chris Lujan '05 BAA
Senior Associate
TSK Architects
Henderson, NV

Holley Mariani '09 BA, '17 MBA
Senior Project Manager
Rapid 7
Albuquerque, NM

Rene Matison '69
Director of Human Resources
Albuquerque, NM

Amy Miller '85 BA, '93 MPA
AMM Consulting
Albuquerque, NM

Fred Mondragon '64 BS
Founder and President, Mondragon International; Former Cabinet Secretary, N.M. Economic Development Dept.; Honory Consul of Spain
Albuquerque, NM

Susan Moczygemba-McKinsey ’73 BA, ’04 MA
Part-Time Professional Consultant
UNM Office of Government and Community Relations
Albuquerque, NM

Debbie Morris '77 BA, '90 MPA
Retired, Director of Student Activities Center
The University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM

Judith K. Nakamura '83 BA, '89 JD
Chief Justice,
State of New Mexico
Supreme Court
Albuquerque, NM

Jim Novak '96 MBA
Senior Manager
Cyber Intelligence Research
Sandia National Labs
Albuquerque, NM

P. Michael Padilla '03 BBA, '07 MBA
Sarbanes Oxley Compliance
Hilton Grand Vacations
Windermere, FL

Gus Pedrotty '17 BA
Technical Author and Research Analyst
Free Range Coworking Company
Albuquerque, NM

Roberta Ricci ’06 BBA, ’09 MA
National Hispanic Cultural Center Foundation
Albuquerque, NM

Jaymie Roybal '12 BA/BS, '16 JD
Assistant United States Attorney
U.S. Department of Justice
Albuquerque, NM

Daniel Trujillo ’07 BBA, ’08 MACCT
Director of Audit
Kubiak Melton & Associates
Albuquerque, NM

Apollonia Trujillo Gallegos '08 BA
Managing Director of Recruitment Early Engagement
Teach for America
San Diego, CA

Jessica M. Hurtado ‘08 BA, ‘12 MPA
Director of Admissions
University of Utah, School of Medicine
Salt Lake City, Utah

Ex Officio Members, 2019-2020

Connie Beimer
Interim Vice President, UNM Alumni Association

Randy Velarde
Chairman of the Board, UNM Foundation

Jenna Hagengruber
Representative, Young Alumni Chapter

Adam Biederwolf
Student Representative
President, ASUNM

Muhammad A. Hussain
Student Representative, GPSA President

Executive Committee, 2020-2021

President: Chad Cooper

Past-President: Alexis Tappan

President-Elect: Mike Silva

Treasurer: Joe Ortiz

Appointed Members: John Brown, Amy Miller, Jim Novak, Jaymie Roybal, Michael Padilla, Roberta Ricci and Daniel Trujillo

Secretary: Connie Beimer

For questions or more information:

Alumni Relations Office
O: 505-277-5808
800-ALUM-UNM (258-6866)