Legislative Service Awards

Distinguished Legislator Award

Representative Danice Picraux (D)

Representative Danice Picraux (D) has served District 26 in the Northeast Heights of Albuquerque since 1991. She is Vice-Chair of the Legislative Health and Human Services Committee, Vice Chair of the Voters and Elections Committee and a member of the House Appropriations Committee, Rules and Order of Business Committee, the Disabilities Concerns Subcommittee and the Tobacco Settlement Revenue Oversight Committee. She was instrumental in starting and has continued to fund the BA/MD Program. She has also been a big supporter of the Nursing program. Rep. Picraux has always been a strong supporter of UNM on the House Appropriations Committee, and this last session provided $1 million in capital funding for renovated roofing across UNM when new money did become available this session. Her overall contribution has resulted in three to four dozen UNM programs funded in her time in the legislature.

Twenty-Year Service Award

Senator Michael Sanchez (D)

Senator Michael Sanchez (D) from Belen, N.M. is currently the Majority Floor Leader. He serves District 29, Valencia County. Senator Sanchez is Vice Chairman of the Committees Committee, a member of the Judiciary and Rules committees. He is best known for championing the New Mexico Lottery Scholarship, thus giving thousands of New Mexico students the opportunity to pursue a higher education. He is a UNM alumnus twice with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and a graduate of UNM's School of Law.

Senator Cynthia Nava (D)

Senator Cynthia Nava (D) is from Las Cruces and represents Doña Ana County. A retired educator, Senator Nava serves as Chair of the Education Committee, Vice Chair of the Legislative Education Study Committee (LESC), Co-Chair of Public School Capital Outlay Oversight Task Force and a member of the Public Affairs and Committees' Committee. Senator Nava is a former recipient of the UNM Lobos for Legislation Higher Education Distinguished Service Award in 2005 for her stalwart support of education in New Mexico.

Representative Debbie Rodella (D)

Representative Debbie Rodella (D) resides in Espanola and represents the northern New Mexico counties of Rio Arriba, Sandoval and Taos. She is Chair of the Economic and Rural Development, and Business and Industry Committee. She serves as a member of the Rules and Order Business Subcommittee and Voters and elections committee.

For questions or more information:

Alumni Relations Office
O: 505-277-5808
800-ALUM-UNM (258-6866)
E: alumni@unm.edu